Hollowness

Even the Earth finds its balance

After it’s shaken to its core

It’s still and steady, 

As if nothing had happened before

Life resumes its monotony

And every migrating bird

Finds its way back to its nest

But why am I still sitting here

With hollowness in my chest

Why am I waiting so idly

As if the world would wait out for me

To collect the shattered pieces

And reclaim a lost identity

The days prove me wrong yet again

It doesn’t get better with time

Wounds don’t heal by talking to a friend

Even words I bleed on paper fail me

Perhaps this blood has run dry

Perhaps this lack of emotion

This great fear, is what will keep me alive

Author: Zeina

I'm a Lebanese translation and editing professional. Juggling parenthood and a home-based freelance career is no easy task, especially for a (hopefully recovering) perfectionist. I'm also an introvert, so yes this explains the tagline "I write better than I speak" :) Hope you enjoy your stay here!

Leave a Reply

