An Introvert’s Manifesto

I acknowledge that I’m an introvert. I AM AN INTROVERT.

I accept that I have limited energy that I won’t waste on trivialties.

I will honestly announce the need for space instead of bursting in anger when my privacy is violated.

I know that I’m not shy nor afraid to speak my mind.

I understand that many people don’t favor this trait in me, but it’s just who I am. 

I sanctify my inner world and will allow only those I trust to take a look in. 

I respect extroverts, but I won’t let their noise disturb my peace. 

I will socialize when I can, when I need to and with whomever I choose.

I can be proactive, not when I’m mentally drained.

I can have conversations, deep ones preferably…with like-minded people.

I can avoid clashes with extroverts who call me a hermit.

I value silence. I need more of it everyday. 

I know I can’t change what others think of me. I won’t even try. 

I can invest my freetime to nurture my soul, body and mind. 

I need introverts around me. Every once in a while. Extroverts don’t intimidate me. They do judge me, though.

I recognize the signs of sensory overload and know when I need to step back. 

I know I’m not socially awkward and I don’t have to prove it by attending events I don’t care about and meet people I don’t even like.

I’m proud of who I am. I love the fact that I’m the Queen of my Kingdom, however lonely it may seem. 

I am an introvert. 

Tell me, are you an introvert like me?

Author: Zeina

I'm a Lebanese translation and editing professional. I mother two adorable children, a 7-year-old hero on the spectrum and a 2-year-old princess just launched on her terrible two's! Juggling parenthood and a home-based freelance career is no easy task, especially for a (hopefully recovering) perfectionist. This is where all the writing and poetry come to my aid, as a source of inspiration, hope and emotional well-being. Poetry is the spark of creativity that ignites my rather mundane life. Spirituality is what keeps me focused on my purpose.

6 thoughts on “An Introvert’s Manifesto”

Leave a Reply

