He’s Just A Child

This is an old poem I wrote when my child was around 2 years old… a little before we learned he had Autism. In his defense, he’s one awesome child, tantrums and all. He’s my child and I’ll never change a thing about him. If he hadn’t been the way he is, I would have never known how strong and capable I am to raise a child with behavior or communication challenges.

 

 

He’s Just a Child

With all the burdens I carry on my shoulders everyday

With all the worry and guilt, someone stops me to say

“How did your child turn out to be this way?”

I stare blankly as images in my mind start to play

I’ve held him in my womb and nourished him with care

I’ve watched over him day and night, I was always there

I gave him all my time, how dare you give me that glare?

I threw away all what used to matter, to me that’s just fair

For him I’d give my life, do you know what he means to me?

He’s the light in my eyes, the first fruit that grew on my tree

I don’t need to justify why he’s just a child

 

If I give him some space, people say I’m loose

They’d say I’m too strict if I lay down some rules

Sometimes I catch myself doing things I don’t choose

And eventually I end up regretful or confused

And as the tears roll down my cheek

They say I shouldn’t grow weak

Assertion is the key to tough situations

Do what’s good for him, be stern yet cool, be firm yet gentle

Oh please Lord, make them stop, that’s TOO much to handle!

He’s not a horse you can tame, he’s just a child

 

 

If a child hits, who do you think is to blame?

People think, “his mother ought to be ashamed”

If a child says something odd, some peculiar word

People think “it’s from his mother he must’ve heard”

His mother is bad, his mother is good,

His mother isn’t doing what she should

People love to reprimand, they can’t understand

The pains of motherhood

That only a weary mother would

Don’t judge a mother

If her million ways of loving don’t match yours

Parenting is not a competition or for keeping scores

You can’t love other people’s children more

Than their own parents ever could

~ Zeina

 

 

 

Author: Zeina

I'm a Lebanese translation and editing professional. Juggling parenthood and a home-based freelance career is no easy task, especially for a (hopefully recovering) perfectionist. I'm also an introvert, so yes this explains the tagline "I write better than I speak" :) Hope you enjoy your stay here!

Leave a Reply

