Doors

One day a door slammed shut
And I thought I lost the keys to the lock

I started looking in other people’s pockets

I searched for all the wrong tools to unlock it

I cried, I screamed, my heart filled with woe

Where could they be, I just didn’t know

Until one day I found out

About pockets I didn’t uncover

They were my own, why didn’t I even bother?

So I rushed to the door that closed one day

But I realized the lock has been changed

So I cried once more

And my heart was sore

Over all the dreams lying behind that door

But I still have that set of keys in hand

Perhaps one day I’ll understand

That those dreams were never meant for me

And I’d have to look for the lock to my keys

Author: Zeina

I'm a Lebanese translation and editing professional. I mother two adorable children, a 7-year-old hero on the spectrum and a 2-year-old princess just launched on her terrible two's! Juggling parenthood and a home-based freelance career is no easy task, especially for a (hopefully recovering) perfectionist. This is where all the writing and poetry come to my aid, as a source of inspiration, hope and emotional well-being. Poetry is the spark of creativity that ignites my rather mundane life. Spirituality is what keeps me focused on my purpose.

Leave a Reply

