Shipwrecked

When my life falls apart

I pick up the fallen pieces of me

Pieces I’d forgotten

In the deepest layers of my memory

As I recall I hear sounds once faded

Getting loud and clear, they roar

All the hustle just awakens me

To live the dreams I had before

Whatever happened that kept me

From seeking all my passions

Won’t stop me now

I’ll have it all somehow

In an extraordinary fashion

I get up and get going

It’s my boat, I will be rowing

Through a river of hopes flowing

Against the winds of change blowing

My faith will keep on growing

Then I pick up piece by piece

the ruins and debris

Of every shipwrecked dream

And build a sailboat anew

That’s what I always do, always do

Author: Zeina

I'm a Lebanese translation and editing professional. Juggling parenthood and a home-based freelance career is no easy task, especially for a (hopefully recovering) perfectionist. I'm also an introvert, so yes this explains the tagline "I write better than I speak" :) Hope you enjoy your stay here!

Leave a Reply

