Your Shoes Don’t Fit Me

Your shoes don’t fit me

And I don’t think they will someday

Please don’t try to fix me

Because I think I’m doing okay

If I do things differently

If I choose not to have it your way

Just allow me to make those inevitable mistakes

Without being reminded of the price I had to pay

Or worrying about all the people I had disappointed

What kind of a life is this?

Look at all the chances I’d missed

Trying to please people who never really cared

And always ending up lost in regret

Now I look at the mirror and see a person trying

No longer fettered by perfection, pretending, lying

I’m absent-minded, emotional,

So don’t mind the crying

Don’t tell me it’s not ok to feel

Helpless, clueless, I’m human

I’m tired of dragging this torn cape

I could never fly, I’m no Superwoman

What I could do however

Is meet up to my own expectations

Set goals regardless of my limitations

Constant challenges fueled my imagination

You see, your doubts have been my motivation

Everytime you said I can’t

I pushed harder till my bones bent

Lifted my spirit up with my own hands

But I still think you won’t understand

If that’s love then I will respect

I’ll assume you meant to protect

But the worst hasn’t happened yet

And one day when you recollect

All the memories that we had

You’ll find that I’ve always been perfect

Just the way I am

Author: Zeina

I'm a Lebanese translation and editing professional. Juggling parenthood and a home-based freelance career is no easy task, especially for a (hopefully recovering) perfectionist. I'm also an introvert, so yes this explains the tagline "I write better than I speak" :) Hope you enjoy your stay here!

Leave a Reply

