The Everyday Survivor

Hey everyone,

It’s been a while since my last blog post. I’ve been surviving. In the real world. And I’ve been pretty sick too. The weather has been terrible this past week, almost everyone I know has got the flu. Our home wasn’t exempted. It’s one thing to take care of yourself and another to take care of a sick helpless toddler *Heartbreaking* But I nipped the sniffles in the bud. I don’t know if it’s the blueberry juice I’ve been drinking everyday or the urge to get back to work ASAP. I’m guessing it’s the blueberry juice. hehe.

I needed a break to be honest. I needed to “sleep on” things, which is exactly what I did by sleeping by 8 pm everyday for an entire week. Too much has been going on in my life and on my mind lately that I wasn’t able to process. Feeling fresher than ever tonight, I found myself rushing to the PC to write.

That’s the way we all survive, actually. We process information, experiences, stimuli every single minute of our existence. We perform our chores, duties, responsibilities, jobs, etc…according to what we process. Our machine-like work is frequently haltered by – short or long – periods of exhaustion, sickness, depression, what have you. But our bodies bounce back to work, our minds follow and so on. We are everyday survivors, we survive every glitch and every crash in our system, every heartache, every bit of annoying drama. We get past the irksome moments and move on. We’ve been perfectly designed to do this, fall then rise again, stronger, fitter, wiser and more resilient after each fall.

Just when I thought I couldn’t handle anymore of the killer routine in my life, I reached out for the reset button. I stretched out my palms, called on to the Planner of my life and humbly asked for His help. I knew He was always there but sometimes we get so caught up in our chaotic schedules that we forget who’s organizing them. Sometimes I like to think of ending a bad day on a positive note as surviving, because it’s too easy to frown on a day that clearly wasn’t yours. So when I do have a bad day, I try to remind myself towards the end of it that, yes, things didn’t go my way, they didn’t go as planned, I didn’t get to do exactly what I wanted, and I didn’t say the things I should have said but that’s OK. It was all a part of His Plan, not mine. I read a beautiful quote once that says, “for peace of mind, resign as the General Manager of the Universe”. As a control freak, it’s too tempting to own a collection of remote controls for every single aspect of your life. It’s excruciatingly painful to just let go and watch things unfold on their own.

But it must be done, from time to time. For peace of mind, it must be done. This past week, I learned an important lesson. That no matter how worried or anxious I may be about the outcome of an effort I’ve been exerting, the result is not directly proportional to my level of stress or anxiety. In fact, worrying has no effect whatsoever on the output. So I kicked off my shoes, slipped into my coziest PJ’s, left the piles of dishes in the sink overnight and got my beauty (more or less recovery) sleep with the hope that some mystical elves would pop into my kitchen for rescue!

Now I know how I’ll be surviving tomorrow, the dreaded recurrent Monday mania. It’ll be tough, but it will pass just like all the Mondays I’ve had before. In fact, I think I’ll take great pride in myself by 8 pm tomorrow as I silently congratulate myself for making it through the worst day of the week!

Goodnight and happy surviving, everyone!

Author: Zeina

I'm a Lebanese translation and editing professional. Juggling parenthood and a home-based freelance career is no easy task, especially for a (hopefully recovering) perfectionist. I'm also an introvert, so yes this explains the tagline "I write better than I speak" :) Hope you enjoy your stay here!

2 thoughts on “The Everyday Survivor”

Leave a Reply

